King Coal Highway

The King Coal Authority

The King Coal Highway Authority was established by the West Virginia Legislature in March of 1999 to promote and advance the construction of a modern highway through McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Wyoming and Wayne counties along currently existing US Route 52. The Authority will coordinate with counties, municipalities, state and federal agencies, public nonprofit corporations, private corporations, associations, partnerships and individuals for the purpose of planning, assisting and establishing recreational, tourism, industrial, economic and community development of the King Coal Highway for the benefit of West Virginians.

The Authority consists of 15 voting members and three ex-officio non-voting members.